Enrolment Service 2018

The boys and officers of 2nd Ahoghill BB Company were enrolled for the 2018/19 session, during their enrolment service in Brookside Presbyterian Church on Remembrance Sunday.

The service began at 11:30am and was led by church elder Richard Petrie, with Rev. William Moody unable to attend.

The congretagation stood as the colours were marched in by Rory McCandless and Daniel Hayburn, with Sam Gault, James McFetridge, William McCartney and Peter Cahoon acting as the colour parties.

Peter Cahoon continued the Company Section’s involvement with a Bible reading taken from 1 Corinthians 1:18-31.

An act of remembrance was observed with a one minute silence, followed by the trumpet call of Last Post and Reveille.

Brookside member Derek Livingstone then shared an address with the congregation. Speaking about his time in the Boys’ Brigade and encouraging the boys to focus on the object of the BB — to advance Christ’s kingdom.

The Anchor Boys formed a choir to perform a song entitled Shine, before church elder James Thompson conducted the act of enrolment.

Five officer from the Company Section were enrolled, with William Young and Jonathan McCartney continuing as Company Captain and Leader in Charge respectively. Lieutenants Ryan Young, Thomas Clarke and Jonathan Clarke also continued in their posts.

A total of seven boys were enrolled as Non-Commisioned Officers this year. John Lyttle was promoted to the rank of Sergeant. Corporal Rory McCandless, and Lance Corporals Shane McCandless and Andrew Gilmore continued in their ranks. Peter Cahoon, William McCartney and Harry McKay were promoted to Lance Corporal.

Overall fourteen boys were enrolled in the Company Section for the 2018/19 session.

OUR OBJECT: The advancement of Christ’s kingdom among Boys and the promotion of habits of Obedience, Reverence, Discipline, Self-respect and all that tends towards a true Christian manliness.
Copyright © 2018 2nd Ahoghill Boys' Brigade.
All Rights Reserved.